Author Topic: (Resolved) Using my own Arris TM502G phone/internet modem  (Read 2269 times)

Offline subsky

• View Profile
(Resolved) Using my own Arris TM502G phone/internet modem
« on: September 28, 2012, 10:15:58 PM »
I'm new to Mediacom. I have Medicacom's RCA phone/internet modem for my phone/internet package. I'm trying to get out from under the Mediacom rental fees.

Tech support has been very nice to work with both here in Gulf Breeze and in the Philippines. However all attempts to provision my ARRIS phone side of the ARRIS modem has failed. I got as far as a blinking green light, but no dial tone.

Talking to various support people, I've gleaned that there is a specific firmware "fix" introduced to this model by Mediacom.

I'm a bit confused reading the topic board. One support person here stated that if one uses their own internet modem then the phone modem will be supplied by Medicacom gratis.

Now I'm wondering, since the internet works with my Arris, can I use that for the internet and reduce my rental costs?
OR
Is there a way to get the firmware fix so my ARRIS phone side will work.

Thanks,
Allen
« Last Edit: December 19, 2012, 02:43:50 PM by MediacomDallas »

MediacomJames

Re: Using my own Arris TM502G phone/internet modem
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2012, 10:37:21 PM »
That definitely sounds like an issue with the firmware.  I can get a ticket in to have the correct firmware pushed to the modem, though we would need for you to connect the modem to a cable outlet so that the modem can come online so that we can see what firmware is on it as well as to push the update.

The rental fee for the phone modem was introduced a few months back, the posts that you have seen regarding the gratis phone modem rental were prior to that change going into effect.

Offline subsky

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2012, 06:50:18 AM »