Author Topic: Not good  (Read 16020 times)

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Not good
« on: February 19, 2015, 02:46:19 PM »
Had a appointment this morning but was canceled without my knowledge. They said I could not get hold of me and canceled it. No duh they cant get hold of me my phone, internet and cable is in and out. Now have to wait till the weekend to another 1.



This has been going on for a few days now. Not good for 100/20 service.

Offline MediacomChris

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3531
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 03:34:47 PM »
Hello cyberpunk1161,
Thank you for contacting us here. I do see that the contact number that was on the ticket was not the the home phone. Can you dm me the best number to get in touch with you to ensure there are no further misses?

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2015, 10:24:39 PM »


Still not good. This is still the same speeds for the past few days.

Another credit?

Offline MediacomRobert

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9086
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2015, 11:01:44 PM »
Thank you for the update. I didn't show any signal issues in the area that would cause the speed issue or any utilization problems. Are you having slow speeds with wired and wireless connections?

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2015, 11:56:31 PM »
Hard wired always have been.

I get this on just about every site I try to go to:

The connection to www.youtube.com was interrupted.
Check your Internet connection
Check any cables and reboot any routers, modems, or other network devices you may be using.

Or like this:

This page isn't available. Sorry about that.
Try searching for something else.


« Last Edit: February 21, 2015, 12:05:27 AM by cyberpunk1161 »

Offline MediacomTommyF

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6076
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2015, 09:45:00 AM »
Do you experience slow speeds at all times of the day? -Tommy

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2015, 12:31:44 PM »
All day pages load slow or have to be reloaded. Today maybe a different story. Last night we got rain after the snow and a little warmer too.



So I should only have 3 days credit since no tech could even get to the house due to road conditions.



Offline MediacomTommyF

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6076
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2015, 01:46:28 PM »
Happy to see that the speeds have improved, and you will see an adjustment on your bill. Please let us know if the speeds drop again. -Tommy

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2015, 01:02:50 PM »
Here we go again:



The colder it gets the worse it gets. Have to refresh pages almost every time to get them to display anything. Could you check my signal levels since the last firmware update will not allow me into the modem at all to check levels. I am also getting DNS look up failures. Is your (Mediacom's) DNS servers down or haveing issues? I seem to not be able to get to that option to change the DNS on the modem.

The server at www.mediacomtoday.com can't be found, because the DNS lookup failed. DNS is the network service that translates a website's name to its Internet address. This error is most often caused by having no connection to the Internet or a misconfigured network. It can also be caused by an unresponsive DNS server or a firewall preventing Google Chrome from accessing the network
« Last Edit: February 23, 2015, 01:09:19 PM by cyberpunk1161 »

Offline MediacomAllie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2015, 01:09:39 PM »
Hi cyberpunk1161, is there a splitter on the coax cable that connects to your modem? If there is, bypass it and see if it improves the speed issue.

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2015, 01:16:46 PM »
The only splitter I have is on the pole outside. 1 line goes to a splitter for TVs and other to modem.

Also on the clear access page I see:

Broadband: UNAVAILABLE
Wireless: Enabled
The device could not be contacted.

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2015, 01:22:17 PM »
Could be the reason I am downloading at 0.497 Mbit/s.

Offline MediacomAllie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #12 on: February 23, 2015, 01:39:00 PM »
Next step would be to do a factory reset on the modem. You will need to hold a small button on the back of your modem on the back for 45 seconds. The reset button is located right above the Ethernet ports. You may need to use a small pin or toothpick to hold it in.

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #13 on: February 23, 2015, 01:52:11 PM »
Done


Offline MediacomAllie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #14 on: February 23, 2015, 01:58:26 PM »
It looks like we will need a technician out to see what is causing the slow speed issue. I could set up a time frame for you if you would like?

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2015, 02:00:14 PM »
Well the last ones could not make it due to road conditions (no plowed roads my way) but okay anytime since snowed in.

Offline MediacomAllie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2015, 02:04:17 PM »
Well I will go ahead and schedule it and PM you the details. And if you could, PM me a good contact number, that way if the tech needs to reschedule or if he is running late, he will be able to contact you.

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #17 on: February 23, 2015, 02:06:32 PM »
sent

cyberpunk1161

  • Guest
Re: Not good
« Reply #18 on: February 23, 2015, 02:09:38 PM »
Still didnt answer about the DNS errors I have been getting. Is the mediacom DNS server down? or how can I change it? I cant log into the modem due to redirects to clearacess.

Offline MediacomAllie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Not good
« Reply #19 on: February 23, 2015, 02:14:33 PM »
There is not a problem with our DNS server right now. You will not be able to change the DNS server through our modem, you will have to change it on the device that the error is occurring on.